creamy cilantro pesto

pesto! is one of my favorite things to put in my mouth. I love it. but our basil isn’t quite on yet and so I am improvising with some cilantro.

DSCN6834

I always make my pesto with nuts. Usually cashews but sometimes walnuts, if I don’t have any cashews around. which was the situation tonight.

1 c cashews/walnuts

1 c cilantro

4 large cloves garlic

salt, to taste

1/4 c olive oil

3 tb lemon juice

you put this all in a food processor until it is super creamy. this is a rough recipe, just keep adding little bits of each of these ingredients until you get the flavor and texture you want. this pesto also freezes super well. when the time is right and you want to make a bunch so you have it through the winter, especially with basil. just make a ton of it and put it in whatever size plastic yogurt or soft cheese containers. and pesto! you’ve got pesto! (…)

I put this pesto on after the rosemary garlic bread was toasted with parmesan cheese and then topped with sungold tomatoes.

DSCN6838

the rest of dinner was new potatoes with freshly shelled peas.

DSCN6842

because I shelled a lot of peas today like 15lbs worth. or more. I blanched them, got them in freezer bags and they are ready to eat in the winter. As far as vegetables go we eat by the season around here because what we have is what we are going to eat. so freezing and canning stuff really helps and gives our winter eating some pizazz when all we have had for a while is potatoes, parsnips, and beets. Do you all want to know about how to freeze and can things? Should I post information on that?

peas

One thought on “creamy cilantro pesto

Leave a Reply

